Touring France before Touring France

The Discovery of FranceThe Discovery of France by Graham Robb
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I read this book to prepare for my upcoming personal Tour de France with my daughter and sister. THE DISCOVERY OF FRANCE was thoroughly researched and provided a unique perspective on the development of a nation. Robb is a talented storyteller, weaving encyclopedic facts into compelling narratives. I would have rated it 4 stars, but there were a few moments here and there that came off a bit “preachy.” However don’t let that deter you from reading this book. You’ll never look at France, or any nation/culture for that matter, the same way again. I will certainly keep my eyes open for pays (past, present, and future) as we tour, though it will be by car instead of bicycle.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Touring France before Touring France

  1. Thanks for the review. I can’t wait to hear about your trip. How wonderful for your daughter to be able to go with you at her young age. Be careful she doesn’t fall in love with France! She might want to move there. It’s a beautiful place.

    • Will be blogging all along the route. My sister never leaves home without her netbook:-) And I think we’re more in danger of losing Megan to Japan than to France, but I’ll still keep my eyes open.

Leave a Reply

