The Write Future

plush frog and books in basket

Junior went with me to Career Day

Today I spoke to four classes of 7th graders during their annual Career Day. This was the first time I’ve ever had enough of a career to consider volunteering, so I’m still buzzing–12 hours after the fact. I also didn’t sleep well last night because my brain was trying to figure out what to say, so I’m not super coherent at this point. I can, however, share a bullet-list of notables:

  • number of teachers who heard my presentation = 6
  • number who asked me for leads on open markets = 4
  • number of 7th graders who heard my presentation = 160
  • number who said they are interested in writing as a career = 14
  • most surprising comment = “I love how the whole Paper House cover is black and white except for the Red Riding Hood. It really draws my eye in.”
  • coolest comment = “I love the feel of this Snowing Fireflies book. And I can’t stop looking at it. Did you paint this?”
  • most common question = “If I write a book, can I send it to you to publish?”
  • most uncomfortable question = “How much can I earn if I do what you do?”
  • question that caused the most tap-dancing = “What’s the deal with those movies made from books that don’t follow the books?”
  • fun poetry related question = “Why do some poetry books have teeny-tiny print with lots of space around the edges? Why don’t they just make the font bigger and have less space?”
  • fun fiction related question = “Do you publish stories on the Kindle? I have one and it would be cool to read your stuff on it.”
  • best question overall = “Are there poems and stories that just aren’t good enough to ever be published?”

This last question will no doubt become its own blog post soon. For now, I can tell you that I got high praise from the English Department for my answer. In the mean time, how would you have answered some of these student questions?

2 thoughts on “The Write Future

Leave a Reply

